May 30, 2024

Bicol Express News

Your Voice ● Your News ● One Nation

LGU Gubat, Sorsogon trains rice farmers to become Certified Rice Seed Growers

Photo: LGU Gubat, Sorsogon

The Local Government Unit of Gubat, Sorsogon, through the Office of the Municipal Agriculturist (OMAg) conducted Inbred Rice Seed Production, Certification and Quality Control for Prospective Seed Growers training to eight (8) eligible rice farmers to accredit them as certified seed growers to the Bureau of Plant Industry National Seed Quality Control (BPI NSQCS) on February 7 to 11, 2022.

The said training is in response to grievances of farmers on the delay of delivery of rice seeds supply coming from the Department of Agriculture, after they had already bought rice seeds burdening the farmers with additional expenses for their cropping.

Photo: LGU Gubat, Sorsogon

Agriculture is one of the priority programs under the SHARED governance of Mayor Sharon Rose Glipo-Escoto.

“Naiimod ta na grabe an paghinguha san ato mga parauma para makaproduser sin pagkaon saato. Sa mga nakaagi na cropping, pag hinahapot ta sira kun kumusta an kanira ani, an simbag san kadaghanan, ‘patas lang o kaya may diyo man kay grabe an gastos. Sayo na rason sini an urhi na pag-abot sin gahi. An libre na gahi makaiban na kunta sa kanira gastos.”, Mayor Sharon said in local dialect.

Mayor Escoto said this training is to ensure that certified seeds will be available on time to Gubat farmers planting, and for food security

“Sa paagi sini na training, inlalaom ta na may-on kita sin available na certified seed sa panahon sin pagtaranom para makaminus na man an gastos san ato mga parauma. Inmamaw-ot ta na gumana man an ato mga parauma nan may kasiguruhan kita sa pagan,” Mayor Escoto said.

Photo: LGU Gubat, Sorsogon

This training was in coordination with the Department of Agriculture’s Training Institute, Office of the Provincial Agriculturist (OPAg), Department of Agrarian Reform Field Office 5, and the BPI NSQCS 5.

The training was also joined by farmers from Irosin, Bulan, Bacon, and Prieto Diaz.