May 20, 2024

Bicol Express News

Your Voice ● Your News ● One Nation

9 Sorsogon hospitals now ISO-Certified, says Chiz

Photo: Sorsogon PIO

Nine (9) hospitals under the Sorsogon Provincial Government are now ISO 9001:2015 Certified.

“Congratulations to all the Doctors, Nurses and Administrative personnel for this outstanding achievement!!!”, Gov. Chiz Escudero posted on his Twitter account @saychiz as he received the good news.

All nine (9) hospitals under the Sorsogon Provincial Health Office on Friday received the much-coveted certification from the Geneva-based International Organization for Standardization (ISO), making these health facilities world class in terms of processes and services.

The ISO-certified hospitals under the supervision of PDMH are the following:

• Sorsogon Provincial Hospital
• Castilla District Hospital
• Irosin District Hospital
• Donsol District Hospital
• Gubat District Hospital
• Bulan Medicare Hospital
• Magallanes Medicare Hospital
• Matnog Medicare Hospital
• Prieto Diaz Medicare Hospital

Photo: Sorsogon PIO

“Ang ISO certification ay pagkilala sa ating pagtutulungan upang maiangat ang kalidad ng serbisyo ng ating mga hospitals para sa ating mga kababayan. Kasabay ng aking pagbati ay ang pasasalamat sa lahat ng tumulong upang maisakatuparan natin ang pinapangarap na ISO certification para sa ating mga medical facilities,” the veteran senator said.

In June this year, Sorsogon got the ISO approval after the audit conducted by CIPI, making it one of the first provinces in the Philippines to be ISO-certified.

The certification covers all 22 functional areas/ departments with no exclusions to the Standard.

After the province’s recognition, Governor Escudero worked with the concerned local government units (LGUs) on the certification process for Sorsogon City and the province’s 14 municipalities.

As of this writing, ISO 9001:2015 certified LGUS are Sorsogon City and the towns of Castilla, Pilar, and Bulan.

The ISO is an international standard-setting body composed of representatives from various national standards organizations.

Founded in 1947, the organization, according to its website, “develops and publishes worldwide technical, industrial and commercial standards.”