May 19, 2024

Bicol Express News

Your Voice ● Your News ● One Nation

Aksyon Demokratiko elects Isko Moreno as party President, Vico Sotto as Exec VP

(L-R) Mayor Isko Moreno and Vico Sotto. Photo from Google

Aksyon Demokratiko Tuesday night elected Manila City Mayor Isko Moreno as its party President in a general membership meeting attended by its incumbent officers and members to include its co-founder Sonia Roco and Aksyon Executive Vice-President (EVP) and Pasig City Mayor Vico Sotto.

“Prior to his membership and eventual election as party President, Aksyon Demokratiko and Mayor Isko had a meeting of minds and hearts in many aspects. We agreed on the COVID-19 response then to providing jobs and livelihood at these times. We also agreed on the rule of law, focusing on education, housing, and health care. Aksyon is proud that Mayor Isko Moreno Domagoso was elected Party President.

We saw in Yorme someone with a clean track record, tangible accomplishments, and a vision that the party shares. We are confident that he will be able to help lead the party in its thrust to be a unifying force in an atmosphere of heavy political polarization.” said Ernest Ramel, the party’s newly elected Chairperson.

Ramel succeeded the late Herminio Aquino, former Congressman of Tarlac, who succumbed to cancer last July 31.

“Isa pong karangalan na maging kasapi at mahalal na pangulo sa isang progresibong partido na may tunay na malasakit para ating mga kababayan. Nagkaroon kami ng maraming pagpupulong bago nila ako tinanggap at masaya ako na maraming alignments sa nais naming isulong sa Asenso Manileno, ang aking napapabilangang lokal na partido. Pangunahin dito ang pagsusulong sa MBN o minimum basic needs: pabahay, trabaho, pagkain, edukasyon at kalusugan para sa ating kababayan.” Mayor Isko Moreno responded.

Pasig City Mayor Vico Sotto retains his post as Executive Vice-President while Concepcion, Tarlac Mayor Andres Lacson is the new Vice-Chairperson. Replacing Ramel as the party’s Secretary-General is former National Youth Commission Chairperson Leon Flores III.

Manila City Vice Mayor Honey Lacuna and Atty. Bobbit Roco takes on the roles VP for Internal Affairs and VP for External Affairs respectively. The other National Officers of the party are as follows:

VP for Women: May Lim
VP for Youth: Councilor Kaye Ann Legaspi
Deputy Sec-Gen: Jayson San Juan
Treasurer: Michael Roy Cuerpo
General Counsel: Atty. Normandy Baldovino, Jr
Executive Director: John Erdie delos Santos

“The vision of Aksyon and Raul Roco for the country can only be realized if we all continue to motivate young, progressive, reform-oriented leaders to take on leadership roles, especially in public service. Sa mga panahong ito kung saan may pandemya at bagsak ang ekonomiya, mahalagang may agaran at mabilis na aksyon ang mga namumuno.” said Sonia Roco, the party Co-Founder and Chairperson Emeritus.

Aksyon is the political party founded by the late Senator Raul Roco in 1997. Aksyon has submitted Thursday its Sworn Information Update Statement to COMELEC.