June 23, 2024

Bicol Express News

Your Voice ● Your News ● One Nation

3 more Sorsogon mayors needed to make province 100% pro-Leni; 11 mayors affirm

(L-R) Mayor Edwin Hamor (Casiguran), Mayor Cynthia Fortes (Barcelona), Claudette So (Matnog). Bicol Express News

In Sorsogon Province, 11 incumbent mayors are 100% loyal to VP Leni Robredo as their Presidential frontrunner, according to Edgar Balasta who is provincial chair of Solid Leni Bicol – Sorsogon Chapter.

Balasta said during their current visit, these Sorsogon mayors who express support to VP Leni are:

Jo Alcantara (Donsol), Carolyn Reyes ( Pilar), Isagani “Bong” Mendoza (Castilla), Benito Doma (Prieto Diaz),
Sharon Escoto (Gubat), Michael Gusayco (Bulusan), Ramon Espela(Sta. Magdalena), Romeo Gordola (Bulan), Alfredo Cielo (Irosin), Antonio Alindogan (Juban), Ma. Ester Hamor (Sorsogon City)

(L-R) Mayor Isagani Mendoza (Castilla), Mayor Sharon Escoto (Gubat), Mayor Michael Guysako (Bulusan) Photo by E. Balasta

Sorsogon has 14 towns and 1 city. Out of the eleven mayors , three other town mayors are not yet confirmed as pro- Leni.

“We have not personally talked to mayors Claudette So (Matnog), Edwin “Boboy” Hamor (Casiguran) and Cynthia F. Fortes (Barcelona) who were not around in their office during our visit yesterday, but their staff informed us that they are still rooting for a Bicolano president,” Balasta said.

That means all Sorsogon incumbent mayors can be 100% pro Leni, if the other three mayors officially declare their stand.

Tracing Leni Gerona- Robredo’s roots, the Geronas came from Sorsogon.

Balasta said most mayoral contenders from different opposing political parties have already expressed support to Leni Robredo.

Local candidates have been saying during their barangay visits: “Now is the time to elect a Bicolano President. Regardless of political parties we have, we have to unite our votes for president – Leni Robredo.”

But, in Camarines Sur Province, 11 mayors were backlashed and heavily bashed by the Bicolanos and Leni supporters after throwing their support last week to Ferdinand Marcos Jr (BBM).

In a related development in Camarines Sur, Mayors of Pamplona and Milaor immediately denied backing up Marcos.

Camarines Sur has 35 towns, plus one city, Iriga City, while Naga City located in the province is a chartered city.